Formatting hard drive

Reaction score
I have no experience or knowledge of formatting hard drives. When I attempt to install macOS High Sierra, I get the "The recovery server could not be contacted." I did research, and I am sure it is the format of the hard drive. I only have the following: Disk Images "OS X Base System" that is Mac OS Extended. I believe it needs to be formatted at APFS. However, that is the hard drive being used, and I can't format it. If I'm correct, how can I format the OS X Base System to format it correctly to install the software? Thanks!

Attachments

• image0.jpeg
    image0.jpeg
    30.3 KB · Views: 12
Reaction score
I have no experience or knowledge of formatting hard drives. When I attempt to install macOS High Sierra, I get the "The recovery server could not be contacted." I did research, and I am sure it is the format of the hard drive. I only have the following: Disk Images "OS X Base System" that is Mac OS Extended. I believe it needs to be formatted at APFS. However, that is the hard drive being used, and I can't format it. If I'm correct, how can I format the OS X Base System to format it correctly to install the software? Thanks!
If you can provide the details for your Mac, it will help in identifying its limits and capabilites. Look for make (e.g. iMac, Mac mini, MacBook, etc.) model year, storage, memory, CPU, and so on.

Reaction score
If you can provide the details for your Mac, it will help in identifying its limits and capabilites. Look for make (e.g. iMac, Mac mini, MacBook, etc.) model year, storage, memory, CPU, and so on.
Yes.