A software update is required to use this startup disk. You can update now or select another startup disk

Reaction score
Hello, I have a macbook air that recently had this message pop up yesterday and about 3 weeks ago. When it happened 3 weeks ago, I clicked on update and nothing seemed to happen. Yesterday, I shut it down for a minute and booted it back up and the message went away.
Is this a macOS issue or possibly a hard drive issue? I'm afraid this message is going to pop up again.

Has anyone had success fixing this?

Thank you
Jason

Reaction score
Hi Jason, welcome to the forum.

Usually all you need to do is select Update. You do need to make sure that WiFi is turned on and you need to connect to the internet.

Reaction score
@MacsBug What does it update? I am new to macs and from what I read on one site. It says this could be a issue with the macOS.

Reaction score
On the M series Mac one of the options in the security settings is to only allow Authorized versions of the macOS. Every now and then the computer will need to verify with Apple that the startup disk has an authoirzed version of macOS installed. This normally should be done in the background. Usually the only time that you would see this is if you keep WIFi off, or you have your Mac turned off for a longer than normal period of time.

You can turn this lower the security settings, but unless its needed then I wouldn't recommend it.

Reaction score
On the M series Mac one of the options in the security settings is to only allow Authorized versions of the macOS. Every now and then the computer will need to verify with Apple that the startup disk has an authoirzed version of macOS installed. This normally should be done in the background. Usually the only time that you would see this is if you keep WIFi off, or you have your Mac turned off for a longer than normal period of time.

You can turn this lower the security settings, but unless its needed then I wouldn't recommend it.